Dick Clark, Still a Legend

I feel so behind, and when I found out that TV Icon, Dick Clark, passed away this Wednesday. The very sight of this news brought me into a funk. It wasn’t long ago that I remember Dick Clark being the one house guest I enjoyed the most during our New Year’s Eve celebration. He started bringing music into the homes of every TV owner with “American Bandstand” and although I wasn’t there to enjoy those times, I’ve heard stories and watch videos recapping the gold years of the series that brought Rock N’ Roll to the masses. With Bandstand, Clark managed to not only entertain the teen population but somehow convince the adult population that maybe Rock N’ Roll really wasn’t the “devil’s music.” He also managed to desegregate TV with the Bandstand stage being the first ever to have blacks and whites performing on the same stage. “There’s hardly any segment of the population that doesn’t see what I do,” Clark told The Associated Press in a 1985 interview. “It can be embarrassing. People come up to me and say, ‘I love your show,’ and I have no idea which one they’re talking about.”

There was a show that ran from 2002-2005 called American Dreams that centered around Dick Clark’s “American Bandstand.” With actual clips from the original airings of Bandstand, it gave me that opportunity to enjoy what my parents did first hand.

“I can’t imagine our world without Dick Clark,” said radio host Bruce “Cousin Brucie” Morrow. “You’d just look at him — that face. I never thought we’d lose him.”

“He was the real deal,” said Glenn Morgan, creator of “Dick Clark National Music Countdown” in 1981, “The same on the air as he was off. He was a gentleman and a consummate professional who understood what he had to do and was meticulous about getting it right.”

“I idolized him from the start,” Ryan Seacrest said. “He was a remarkable host and businessman and left a rich legacy to television audiences around the world.”

“He was there for every crisis of my life and there were many,” Connie Francis said in statement. “Without Dick Clark there would have been no career because I was ready to abandon it. Dick was the most principled man I ever met in this business and treated everyone the same way, even if you were the little guy.”

Pat Boone said, “Careers grew because of Dick Clark.”

Clark passed away Wednesday at the age of 82. He will be forever remembered and deeply and truly missed. Thank you Dick Clark, from all of America.

One thought on “Dick Clark, Still a Legend

  1. Hello There. I discovered your blog the use of msn. This is a really neatly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your helpful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

