“The Newsroom” By Aaron Sorkin

“First step in solving any problem is recognizing there is one. America is not the greatest country in the world anymore.”

I’m gonna get down to brass tacks and be real quick and honest about it. I caught up and finished watching the entire summer series in 3 days. I’ll explain why in two words: Aaron Sorkin. Although his writing résumé only includes 10 well-known titles, every single one shows the great power that is Mr. Sorkin’s pen. I’ll admit, my admiration for Sorkin did not come into play until I finished watching the entire “West Wing” series. Once I saw the very first episode, I was completely engrossed. This exact reaction happened with the very first episode of “The Newsroom.” In a time when the media is such an integral part of politics, “The Newsroom” manages to keep things real. I’ll say this much, if this program actually existed, I would probably actually watch it. Not for nothing but the fact that they are on a search to “civilize” their viewers makes me smile from ear to ear. I gotta say this, Sorkin’s got more balls than ornaments on a Christmas tree.

Let the critics go on and on about Sorkin being a hypocrite and having nothing new to bring to television. Let them complain about the writing being old trash that should be put out to pasture. The truth of the matter is, Sorkin has managed to come back to TV and bring with him a smart, charismatic, delightfully outrageous show with a cast that manages to make all the sense in the world. The show brings Sorkin back to the fast paced quick and witty dialogue that we know and love from just about everything else he’s written. I must say it’s more surprising to see that none of his favorite actors are featured. Of course there is always next season for that. The best part of this season was by far the excellent dialogue that has been brought to the viewers. The best of which being when Sam Waterston says, “The rest were pussy-ass, coward-ass, pussified pussies!” When those words left Waterston’s mouth, the pause button came in  handy. It was the best thing I’ve heard all year from anyone anywhere.

The finale “The Greater Fool,” gave Sorkin and the cast the opportunity to argue the question of a elder woman that is being denied the ability to vote. Towards the end of the speech, Jeff Daniels character Will McAvoy calls the Tea Party “the American Taliban.” “They can call themselves the Tea Party, they can call themselves conservatives, and they can even call themselves Republicans, though Republicans certainly shouldn’t. But we should call them what they are, the American Taliban. And the American Taliban can not survive if Dorothy Cooper is allowed to vote.” It’s the most direct and hard hitting information brought to TV. A lot of people are afraid to hear the truth because just like Jack Nicholson said, “You can’t handle the truth.” But we can handle the truth as long as it shoots us between the eyes.

Thank you “The Newsroom,” for shooting us right between the eyes.

4 thoughts on ““The Newsroom” By Aaron Sorkin

  1. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for novice blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • I would say write about what you know and what you’re passionate about. If it’s bullshit you could care less about people will notice. I like writing about tv, music, art, and books because I enjoy all of them. Find out what you enjoy and run with it. People will find you and be grateful for your opinion.

Leave a Reply

