The Big Hero: Michael Clarke Duncan

When I heard about Michael Clarke Duncan, shock, sadness, and terror took over my train of thought. My initial reaction was “is this like when Jon Bon Jovi died a couple of years back?” Then my father turned the computer revealing the Houston News Channel 2 as the source. It didn’t take long for my twitter notifications to start going off like wild-fire. And that’s when I realized that this news, sad as it was, was true.

I was introduced to the tall hot glass of chocolate when I watched “Armageddon” in theaters in 1998. A year later he was in “The Green Mile.” He got a nomination from the Academy for Best Actor in a Supporting Role. After this breakthrough performance, MCD starred in such films as “The Whole Nine Yards,” (by far my favorite of his comedy roles!) “Planet of the Apes,” “The Scorpion King,” “Daredevil,” and “Sin City.” His last project, that I completely fell in love with, was FOX’s “The Finder.” Duncan starred as lawyer Leo Knox. A character that I would LOVE to have watch my back. Whenever Duncan made his presence known on-screen, his talent and charisma stole the scene. To this day, every time I watch “Armageddon,” I laugh so hard when he stands between Bruce Willis with a shot-gun and Ben Affleck running away. And when he asks for a hug from the psychologist… that was epic stuff.

Monday morning, MCD died at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles at the early age for 54. According to his fiancée Rev. Omarosa Manigault, he was being treated at the facility for a heart attack he suffered earlier this summer.

He will be truly missed and his talent will live on forever in the films and tv he did proudly. I think co-star Geoff Stults of “The Finder” said it best, “Well that’s because I think you’re one of the finest men who ever lived. Tied with Jesus and Cal Ripken Jr.” RIP Michael Clarke Duncan.

Leave a Reply

