“The Future in the Past”: Best Premiere of the Series?

After reading other reviews, looking at spoilers and hearing so many different opinions about where this show should go, I gotta say, I could not be more excited about this new season of BONES. Monday night was the premiere of the 8th season of this gloriously well written show. But the question at the end of the episode that seems to be on a lot of people’s minds is, could “The Future in the Past,” be the best premiere of the series? Let’s get down to it.

Pilot, The Titan on the Tracks, The Widow’s Son in the Windshield, Yanks in the UK, Harbingers in the Fountain, The Mastodon in the Room, and The Memories in the Shallow Grave. If you’ve watched this series from the beginning, you know that these are all titles for all the season premieres. All of which have their own qualities that make them the best season premiere. Until last night, my favorite of the season premieres was “Yanks in the UK.” Maybe I’m just a nerd for two partners or british accents but I loved the story line. In my opinion, it did a great job of summing up what the show was really all about at that point. Most, I feel, would say that “The Memories in the Shallow Grave,” was the best of all the season premieres simply because it revealed our two favorite crime fighters as a couple. Yea we waited 7 years for them to finally be put together but there was something bigger about the whole thing that happened monday night.

Without giving away too many spoilers I’m gonna explain why “The Future in the Past” is the best, if not one of the best, season premieres of the entire series. 1) We don’t just get to see our favorite crime fighting couple back together, we also get to see them in a bit of turmoil. This sounds bad but it’s not. It leads to way more interesting scenes later. 2) The team is back together with a different person taking lead at the Jeffersonian. Oh hell… it’s Clark. If you didn’t already know, now you do. Although they’ve been without Brennan for 3 months, it looks like not very much has changed expect everyone’s attitude toward their jobs. 3) The VILLAIN! What a smartass piece of creative writing these bastards do every week. WOAH BUDDY! So Pelant is one of those guys that’s too smart for his own good. And as much as I hate to say it, yes he does get away with it in the end. If you haven’t watched it yet, all I can say is I do mean that literally. But I KNOW he’s not gone forever. And finally 4) The dialogue. I always save the best for last and this premiere blow my mind with its dialogue. One liners that come from Booth “Hodgins gets to go home every night with the woman he loves and gets to see his child. I don’t.”, Pelant delivering his line at the end like a scared baby “That’s assault. She assaulted me.”, Angela’s sincere concern for her friend “Do I really have to explain that to you?”, and Christine saying her first word over and over again, “Da da.” There are plenty of other extremely valid examples of the capabilities of the writing staff at BONES but there is never enough time.

So now it’s time for you to tell me what you think. Vote on the Poll and let your opinion be known. If you want to tell me what’s your BEST premiere, comment away! Is anyone else just as excited about this season as I am?

Leave a Reply

