“Woodstock – 3 Days of Peace and Music”

As a requirement for one of my classes I had to watch the movie “Woodstock – 3 Days of Peace and Music.” Not only was I looking forward to the music but I couldn’t wait to see the people who actually went and made this little festival the biggest peace gathering in the history of the 20th century. I watched the movie earlier this week and to be honest, I needed some time to really think about what I had just witnessed. It was interesting listening to the people in the crowd talk about why they were there. It was even more interesting to hear what the people of the town had to say about the festival in general. Adults that you would think would hate everything about a bunch of teenagers to young adults making their town a disaster area, actually had nothing bad to say about the people and the festival. Watching this movie and knowing the history of the time before hand, it surprises me how true the turn of phrase, “History repeats itself” holds up. Maybe the specific details of the history have altered in some way, shape or form but most of the meanings can be compared to the cultural issues of today. Moving on…

After having enough time to think about the movie and how I felt about what had just happened, I decided that there was only one true way that I felt. Disappointed, NOT at the movie at all but at my generation. That’s right, I said MY GENERATION. When you watch something that was so significant in making social and political change happen it makes you really think about what you’ve witnessed in your life and what you might have contributed to. My generation is responsible for the beginning of horrific entertainment and disgusting manners. Oh and being PC of course. Watching all those 400,000+ people come together in complete peace was uplifting and inspiring. Could my generation do that? HELL NO. 400,000+ teenagers and young adults of my generation coming together on 10-12 acres of land for 3 days with no expectations? We’d have a better chance if parents were a requirement. Even then there’d be fights, arguing and hurting each other before we’d make it through the first afternoon. Maybe I’m not giving my generation enough credit but when you come from the people responsible for having amusement parks torn down because of gang fights, there’s not much more you can hope for. However, I would LOVE to see something like Woodstock happen again. Where no one made a profit, everyone was there for the same cause and no one even mentions the word “violence.”

The performances from the movie were all wonderful but the one that got me the most would have to be Jimi Hendrix. Or to be more specific, Jimi Hendrix playing the national anthem. I HAVE to say that watching him play the national anthem was FAR more stupendous than anything I’ve ever seen. I’ve never seen someone so animated become so humble and respectful while playing our countries song. I don’t care what anyone says, it was the BEST version of the song I’ve ever heard and ever will hear.

In closing I’d simply like to say, I’m sorry. On behalf of my generation, I’m sorry that we haven’t made many significant changes and that the ones we have, have ended in blood and tears. What a thing to live up to…

Leave a Reply

