Backstreet Boys 20 Years Strong

Backstreets Back ALRIGHT!!!! To all my BSB fans out there, that’s right, they’re ALL back now and coming out strong with a new album. They just celebrated their 20 years together, got a Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame and announced the 2014 release of a documentary. Can you believe it’s been 20 years? I sure can’t. Especially considering that I’ve been listening to them that entire time. Yes, I was in elementary school but you better believe I was rockin’ out to them even back then. As a long time, extremely AVID fan, there isn’t much of the BSB world that I don’t stay in touch with and constantly wish I could be apart of. A perfect example would be the BSB Cruises and the Backstreet Boys Live Stream Recording of their 20th celebration and their Star ceremony.  After having them in my musical life for so long, it’s hard to not want to be a part of a celebration like this one.

Of course now is when I get to talk about the songs that they played clips of at the afore-mentioned celebration. As much as I would LOVE to go on and on about these songs, there’s only one word that can really describe them: Mainstream. And you have NO IDEA how much it PAINS me to use that horrific word for a group of extraordinarily talented men. MY LORD DO I WANT TO LOVE ALL THESE SONGS! My favorite parts of the video were when they were having “technical difficultly” and they sang a cappella. Good lord I fell on the floor (literally) when they all came in together. I’ve decided that BSB is just like a fine foreign wine. They can ONLY get better with age. Now, I’m not saying that the songs are bad because after you hear the stories behind them, you really can’t help but love all the under tones. What I am saying is this, they’re not BSB from 1993. In fact, they’re not even BSB from 2009. Instead, they’ve managed to combine the more traditional BSB style and fuse it with massive over production and the dreaded technology known as auto-tune. Come on guys! Y’all don’t need auto-tune. It just seems like they’re hiding behind all this new technology just to make the wrong people happy. I will say this much, “Breathe,” “Try,” “Show Them What Your Made Of,” and “Madeleine” are the songs I’m most looking forward to. When you hear the guys talk about these songs, you can see how vulnerable they are. It’s beautiful and inspiring. “Madeleine,” was my particular favorite. Being a kid that was bullied all the time, I immediately connected with it. That song is the perfect example of who BSB is. Passionate, heart-felt, talented musicians that just want everyone to hear what they have to say. Those are the men I know and love.

KTBSPA

That being said, I will always and forever KTBSPA. They got me through some of the hardest times in my life. Songs like “As Long As You Love Me,” “Show Me The Meaning of Being Lonely,” “What Makes You Different Makes You Beautiful,” “Never Gone,” “Helpless When She Smiles,” and “Undone,” came along just at the right time to pull me back up. It’s cheesy yes, but every word I say I mean. They were a huge influence on me becoming a musician and songwriter. Their voices and styles have ruined my ears for any other male quintet that even tries to sing together. And they’ve managed to consistently invade my Spotify, Pandora, Slacker and CD player nearly 6 of the 7 days of the week. BSB is the best-selling boy-band of all time and one of the world’s best-selling music artists. They have released 7 albums, all of which have reached the top 10 of Billboards Top 200. And they have won of the hearts of millions of girls and women across the globe.

So BSB fans make sure you check out the link above to watch the live recording of their 20th Anniversary celebration. You will not be disappointed. I know, I sure the hell wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

